Historic District Commission

Regular Meetings

  • 5:30 PM
  • 2nd Thursday ever other month
  • City Hall
    113 W. Mountain Street
    Room 326
    Fayetteville, AR 72701

The Historic District Commission was created on March 1, 1979 through Ordinance 2509 pursuant to the provisions of A.C.A. 14-172-206 to recommend the establishment of historic districts to the City Council. It was later amended by Ordinance 3836 on October 18, 1994.

The basic function of the Commission is to promote the educational, cultural, economic, and general welfare of the public through the preservation and the protection of buildings, sites, places, and districts of historic interest.

The powers and duties of the commission include: suggesting specific alternative guidelines for the alteration and new construction of structures; fostering and encouraging preservation and restoration; encouraging public participation in identifying and preserving these resources and promoting the safety, education, health, and general welfare of the citizens.


Staggered three-year terms, ending June 30.


The commission consists of seven members.


Vacancies on the Commission shall be filled by appointment from the Mayor with the approval of the City Council.

Public Notification

A weekly meetings list is prepared by the Office of the City Clerk Treasurer; it is distributed to the press and posted online.

  • Rhianon DeLeeuw
    116 East Maple Street
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    01/01/16 thru 06/30/20
  • Teresa Turk
    1408 West Cleveland Street
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    04/01/17 thru 06/30/18
  • Kathryn Cook
    98 South Duncan Avenue
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    07/01/16 thru 06/30/19
  • Christine Myres
    1158 North Maxwell Drive
    Fayetteville, AR 72703
    01/01/13 thru 06/30/18

  • David Alan Stewart
    1109 East Glenn Lane
    Fayetteville, AR 72703
    07/01/16 thru 06/30/19
  • Will Watson
    3257 South City Lake Road
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    01/01/13 thru 06/30/18
  • Angela Albright
    922 West 15th Street #9
    Fayetteville, AR 72701
    07/01/17 thru 06/30/20